JMHS Golf Fore! Health Tournament

Johnson Memorial Health Services (JMHS) held its first annual Golf Fore! Health Tournament on Wednesday, June 12 at the Dawson Golf Course. The best ball, four-person scramble had fifty-six participants. The team of Austin Schmitt, Dalton Palmer, Christian Thoen, and Spencer Erickson won the tournament after winning the playoff hole against the team of Scott Ochsendorf, Ken Sather, Rick Bothun and Mike Pederson.

Following the tournament attendees and the public were invited to the Award’s Ceremony at the Hilltop Bar and Grill. Juicy bone-in pork chops, baked potatoes, green beans and dinner rolls were served. Tourney winners and hole prize winners were announced following dinner. They included: 1st place – Team Schmitt; 2nd Place – Team Ochsendorf; Longest Drive (M) – Jason Brewer; Longest Putt (M) – Jesse Redepenning; Longest Putt – Sandy Odden; Closest to the Gnome – Jonell Leslie; Closest to the pin 2nd shot – Kevin Johnson; Longest Drive (W) – Andrea Sawatzky; Longest Putt (w) – Andrea Sawatzky.

The new Golf Fore! Health Tournament replaces the Dr. Maus Scholarship Golf Tournament with proceeds to benefit the Dr. Maus Dawson-Boyd Community Scholarship Fund and to help purchase a new bariatric lift chair in the hospital. The new annual event raised just over $7,000!

The Dr. Maus scholarship is awarded annually to Dawson-Boyd graduates and alumni pursuing careers in healthcare. To date the scholarship fund has provided over $63,000 in Scholarships! This year $1,000 scholarships were awarded to Keaton Schuelke, Pre-med and Mary Bothun, Nursing.  $500 scholarships were awarded to DBHS alumni Hannah Stelter, Nursing and Austin Schmitt, Physical Therapy.

Thank you to the all the sponsors for this year’s tournament. They include the following PLATINUM ($1,000): Bremer Bank; GOLD ($500): Prairie Lakes Healthcare System, USI; SILVER ($250): Dawson Truck Parts, Eide Bailey, NewDay Risk Consulting, Hasslen Construction Co., Inc., LQP Broadcasting Company, Lac qui Parle Co-op, Wold Architects, Tami Maus; BRONZE ($100): AGP, CPSI, Dawson Co-op Credit Union, Dawson Drug & Gifts, Sather Construction, Kari Stringer, The Late Murial Stringer, Dr. Phil Maus, Dr. Ferdinand Addo; PRIZE ($50): Al’s Mercantile, Body Togs, Bothun Builders, Dairy Queen, Dawson Co-op Credit Union, Dawson Sentinel, Dean Martinson/Pioneer Seeds, Erickson Chevrolet, Heather Nursery, Heartland Eyecare, Hilltop Bar & Grill, INTALERE, Jim’s Clothing, JMHS, Lavish, Lee Motors, Livestock Systems of Dawson, Marc’s on Main, Monica’s, Moseng Chiropractic, Neon Needles, Strand Insurance Agency, Subway, The Country Butcher and Tim’s Food Pride.

For more information or to donate to the Dr. Maus Dawson-Boyd Community Scholarship Fund or the JMHS Foundation please contact Kristyn Wicht or Saundra Snobl at the JMHS Foundation at 320-769-4393.